Holy Childhood School was founded in 1859. Initially, students were taught by lay teachers in a house owned by a local doctor and later in two rooms of the rectory. In 1864, a school containing two rooms was built on parish property at a cost of $2,361.00. Lay teachers taught at the school until the arrival of the Ursuline Sisters of Louisville, Kentucky in 1872. A one-room addition which was used as housing for the Sisters was added to the school in 1875. A second story was built in 1888 at which time the Poor Handmaids of Jesus Christ succeeded the Ursuline Sisters. In the 1960’s four more classrooms, a library, a modern air-conditioned cafeteria with seating for over 400, and a full-sized gymnasium with stage and seating for 800 were added to the school. Throughout the years, thoughtful planning, consistent care, and timely maintenance have helped the school retain its original architectural charm throughout the many updates and additions.
From the very beginning, the school has served to provide the opportunity to promote Catholic-Christian values, as well as a complete and thorough academic experience. The school program is well-rounded and grounded by spiritually focused programs, in addition to our rigorous, holistic academic requirements. Holy Childhood School holds a Certificate of Illinois State recognition and all teachers are state certified and members of the NCEA.